Professional MotorSport World Expo 2017
LinkedIn Group YouTube

2012: The best show yet!

"Last year's Professional MotorSport World Expo was the best yet," said Tony Robinson, CEO of UKI Media & Events, the international exhibition company and publisher that organises the Cologne-based event. "Preliminary visitor numbers show that over 7,000 motorsport professionals attended the show, which featured over 250 exhibitors from all over the world, each showcasing the very latest race technologies, components and services."

X

X

X

X

X

X

X

X

Indeed, numerous leading motorsport suppliers used Professional MotorSport World Expo 2012 to launch pioneering technologies, with the likes of Recaro debuting the P 1300 GT racing seat, claimed to be the first length- and tilt-adjustable shell to meet the latest FIA 8862-2009 standard. Other notable product launches from the 250+ exhibitors included OMP's new range of breathable race wear, GEMS' DA2 micro data logger, a custom brake and clutch line service from Viper Performance, Lazer Lamps' new LED lamps, and Recticel's high-tech, safe and easily transportable alternative to straw bales, the SafeGuard Bale.

Robinson summed up the event: "We are really excited with the way the show has developed. We have an excellent range of international exhibitors covering pretty much every facet of motorsport. Most important is that the show always stays true to what we promised at the start: it's the motorsport show for motorsport people and we don't encourage the general public to come here. It is a special environment and getting better every year!"

Professional MotorSport World Expo 2013, to be held in Cologne from 12-14 November 2013, already looks set to be even bigger and better, with more exhibitors and even more innovation expected.

 

 

Sliding seat unveiled

Making its world debut on Recaro Automotive’s booth at the show was the P 1300 GT racing seat, claimed to be the first length- and tilt-adjustable shell to meet the latest FIA 8862-2009 standard.

Designed for long-distance events requiring driver changes, the base permits the seat to be adjusted lengthways by up to 130mm via tracks on the side of the seat, thereby maintaining a low mounting position and potentially assisting rescue crews in extracting a driver after an accident. During installation, a tilt variation of up to 3° can also be set and in a further measure to accommodate drivers of different heights, removable pads (in three different, color-coded sizes) can be swapped in and out via Velcro fixings.

Elsewhere on the stand, Recaro was showing the Pro Racer SPG and SPA models – both now available with an adapter to provide 240mm of lengthways adjustment – and an XL-sized version of the 8862-2009-homologated Pro Racer Ultima seat, suitable for large drivers.


Racewear innovations

One of the most distinctive stands at PMW Expo was again OMP’s racewear trailer at the rear of the exhibition hall. For 2013, the Italian company is presenting a bundle of new innovations and products, principal among which is the patented ‘Dry System’. By creating strategically selected areas to be highly breathable, this system is claimed to drastically reduce body heat and thereby improve driver performance.

The breathable inserts, which are available in OMP’s ‘One’ racesuits, work in conjunction with One Underwear, whose three-dimension components reduce the number of seams. Other additions to the 2013 range include a collection of One Shoes and a One S glove with differentiated palm grips for better feel.

 

Data logger launch

Following on from the popular DA1 data logger, GEMS chose PMW Expo to present its next generation of micro data logger, the DA2, for the first time. With an option of 256MB or 2GB logging memory, increased download speed and driverless PC interface, the DA2 builds on GEMS’ experience of data longing in environments from circuit racing to Dakar.

Also new at the show was the PM3 power management module. While carrying over key features of the earlier PM1 unit, which has served championship winning teams in ALMS and PWRC, the new model is smaller and lighter than before, and fitted with a new Positronic connector to provide a cost-effective option for teams that don’t require an AS-style connector.

 

More product debuts

UK-based Viper Performance was back at PMW Expo with a host of new products. The line-up included aluminum universal breather tanks, which combine a catch and breather outlet into one. Available in a polished mirror finish or black, the 550ml tank features a 1/8in NPT thread at the bottom connected to a drainage valve that can easily be removed to use the NPT thread as a return or remote drain. The top port suits all lines and the third port on the side connects to a breather filter.

Viper also showcased its new custom brake and clutch line service. Bespoke stainless-steel braided hydraulic lines can now be made to customer specifications, with the stainless-steel braiding encapsulated in a thick PVC cover that’s available in a number of colors.

 

DTM clutch a racing success!

ZF Race Engineering was one of a number of exhibitors who had new technologies shortlisted for PMW Expo Awards. But while ZF’s clever new anti-stall clutch missed out in the Motorsport Technology category, another of its products played its part in two other awards: DTM as European Race Series of the Year, and HWA as Team of the Year.

ZF is an official supplier to the DTM, providing race clutches to every car on the grid, as well as an ‘Official Partner’ of championship-winning BMW Motorsport. ZF Race Engineering resolved a complex task for the 2012 season: reliably transmitting the 500PS engine’s torque, ensuring long service intervals, and simultaneously satisfying strict cost limitations defined by tender.

To achieve the targets, ZF Race Engineering combined various elements of its modular systems to form a new clutch. The Formula Carbon Clutch 4/140Y is a member of the Racing Clutch Systems (RCS) family. It’s equipped with four friction plates to handle up to 900Nm, with triple the service life of the preceding model. As a consequence, an entire DTM season can be covered with a single clutch per car providing there’s no overloading due to misuse.

 

 

Lightweight vehicle ramps

Newly available in Europe are Race Ramps, a portable vehicle lifting system made for a state-of-the-art, lightweight, high-density foam. The resulting ramp is rustproof and weighs just 7kg, but is strong enough to lift a 2.7-tonne vehicle up to 35cm off the ground. Applications include gaining access to the vehicle's underside, or extending the length of trailer ramps to decrease the approach angle. "Thanks to their simple interconnecting design, they can build into a portable pit-stop," said Stephanie Beerens, managing director of Race Ramps Europe. "They can also be customized into the team's livery."

 

DeltaWing engine on display

Centerpiece of the display booth of fastener specialist, ARP Inc was the turbocharged, direct-injection DIG-T engine fitted to the radical DeltaWing sportscar that turned heads at Le Mans in 2012. ARP has been coming to PMW Expo for five years now and is back with a number of new product releases in 2012, including main bolt and head stud kits for Porsche 3.4-3.6-liter engines, MINI 1.6-liter fastener kits, and BMW 2.8 and 3-liter rod bolt kits. All are available for immediate delivery.

 

Show debut for Lazer Lamps

Surely the 'brightest' new technology on show in Cologne this year were the LED units from Lazer Lamps. A first-time exhibitor, the company was formed in 2010 and has spent two years developing its products to the point where it has now secured EU approval for road use. This opens the doors to the lights being used for road rallying, as well as endurance and off-road rally applications.

"We're here to show people a new way of lighting for dusk, dawn and night-time racing," said Lazer Lamps' sales manager, William Rhodes. "These units are small-packaged and very powerful."

Designed and manufactured in the UK, Lazer Lamps' lighting pods use less power than traditional HID or halogen alternatives. The biggest unit available, the T16, features 16, 10W LEDs that consume a total of 13A at 12V. The light provided is just under 14,000 lumens, the equivalent of nine 9in halogen spotlights.

Lazer's LEDs have already been used by teams in the Britcar 24h race and will supply the lighting for the Race2Recovery team's Wildcats and support trucks during the 2013 Dakar Rally.

 

Straw-bale alternative revealed

Making its show debut was the latest product from racetrack barrier specialist, Recticel. As a result of numerous enquiries from customers, the company has developed a modern alternative to the traditional straw bale. Made from fire-retardant foam and finished with an additional retardant spray coating, Recticel's Safeguard Bale is said to provide a more consistent, longer-lasting, light and more aesthetically pleasing straw-bale replacement.

The Bale is available in black or grey and comes in a standard length of 2.4m with a 30cm depth. Custom sizing is possible however, and Recticel has already supplied 5m lengths to Oulton Park in the UK, where the Bales are bonded to a plywood backing along the pit wall. Sales manager, Colin Harrold explained that the Safeguard Bale can be glued back together if it splits, and should last at least three racing seasons unless repeatedly damaged by impacts.

Approval has already been secured from motorcycle governing bodies the ACU and MCRCB, with FIM categorization expected to follow. "People do not like straw bales," he said. "They're bought in April and thrown out in November. The Safeguard Bale provides an alternative, and we're in no doubt that the product will evolve."

 

F1 fuel tank on show

Catching the eye on ATL’s booth was a cutaway from a 2004 F1 fuel cell, providing rarely shown insight into this most high-tech of applications. Co-director Kevin Molloy explained that the 5kg tank is made from FIA-standard FT5 Kevlar (external walls) and FT3 (internals). It takes around 120 man-hours to build thanks to an intricate internal network of vents, baffles and valves.

“We’re at the show to meet existing customers and show people what’s new,” said Molloy, whose company supplies all 12 F1 teams, the new Foxhound vehicle for the British armed forces, and a turnkey fuel system for the McLaren GT3. “We’ve recently enlarged our fabrication facility so we’re promoting that side of the business, too.”

 

Bespoke transmission solutions

Helix Autosport was at the show with a range of bespoke, uprated clutch and lightweight flywheel kits to suit dozens of motorsport applications. Popular kits supplied for road and racing applications over the past year include items for the Ford Focus RS, MINI Cooper S, Toyota GT86 and Porsche 911. For 2013, the company will continue to work closely with trackday car tuners and manufacturers, and kit-car makers.

 



 

 
OPENING TIMES
Wednesday 15th Nov 10.00 - 17.00
Thursday 16th Nov 10.00 - 17.00
Friday 17th Nov 10.00 - 17.00
WORKSHOPS
 
BOOK YOUR EXHIBITION
STAND SPACE NOW FOR
2017 Click here...
GALLERY

Click Here to view 2016 gallery more
HOTEL PARTNER

 

Future show dates:

Professional Motorsport World Expo 2018
Dates: 7-9 November 2018
Location: Hall 10.1, cologne,Germany

Future show dates:

Professional Motorsport World Expo 2019
Dates: 13-15 November 2019
Location: Hall 10.1, cologne,Germany

Professional MotorSport World Expo 2013
LinkedIn Group YouTube

2012: Die bisher beste Messe!

„Die diesjährige Professional MotorSport World Expo war die bisher beste“, so Tony Robinson, CEO von UKI Media & Events, dem internationalen Messeunternehmen und Veranstalter der Messe in Köln. „Vorläufige Besucherzahlen zeigen, das mehr als 7.000 Motorsport-Experten die Messe besucht haben, bei der mehr als 250 Aussteller aus der ganzen Welt die neuesten Renntechnologien, -komponenten und -dienstleistungen gezeigt haben.“

X

X

X

X

X

X

X

X

Zahlreiche führende Motorsport-Zulieferer nutzten die Professional MotorSport World Expo 2012, um bahnbrechende Technologien vorzustellen. Dazu zählten auch Recaro, die zum ersten Mal den Rennsitz P 1300 GT zeigten, der die erste längs- und neigungsverstellbare Schale haben soll, die die neueste FIA-Norm 8862-2009 erfüllt. Zu den beachtenswerten Produkteinführungen der über 250 Aussteller gehörten die neue Kollektion atmungsaktiver Rennbekleidung von OMP, der Mikrodatenlogger DA2 von GEMS, ein maßgeschneiderter Brems- und Kupplungsleitungsservice von Viper Performance, neue LED-Lampen von Lazer Lamps und Recticels sichere und leicht transportierbare High-Tech-Alternative zu Strohballen, der SafeGuard Bale.

Robinson, fasste die Veranstaltung so zusammen: „Wir sind wirklich begeistert, wie sich die Messe dieses Jahr entwickelt hat. Wir haben ein riesige Vielfalt internationaler Aussteller, die so ziemlich jede Facette des Motorsports abdecken. Ganz wichtig dabei: Die Messe bleibt dem treu, was wir ganz am Anfang versprochen haben. Sie ist die Motorsportmesse für alle, die im Motorsport arbeiten. Die Öffentlichkeit ist nicht eingeladen. Sie ist ein besonderes Umfeld, und sie wird von Jahr zu Jahr besser!“

Die Veranstaltung im kommenden Jahr, die vom 12. bis 14. November 2013 in Köln stattfindet, wird voraussichtlich noch größer und besser: Es werden mehr Aussteller und noch mehr Innovationen erwartet.

 

Innovationen bei Rennbekleidung

Einer der markantesten Stände der PMW Expo ist wieder einmal der Trailer mit OMP-Rennbekleidung an der Rückseite der Messehalle. 2013 stellt das italienische Unternehmen eine ganze Reihe neuer Innovationen und Produkte vor, im Besonderen das patentierte „Dry System“. Bei diesem System werden strategisch ausgewählte Bereiche äußerst atmungsaktiv gestaltet, sodass die Körperwärme stark verringert und damit die Fahrleistung gesteigert werden soll. Die atmungsaktiven Einsätze, die in den OMP-Overalls der Reihe „One“ erhältlich sind, arbeiten mit der One-Unterwäsche zusammen, bei der durch dreidimensionale Komponenten die Anzahl der Nähte verringert wurde. Weitere Ergänzungen des Sortiments für 2013 sind unter anderem eine Kollektion von One-Schuhen und ein One-S-Handschuh mit differenziertem Innenhandgriff für mehr Gefühl.

 

Vorstellung eines Datenloggers

GEMS wählte die PMW Expo für die Vorstellung des DA2, eines Mikro-Datenloggers der nächsten Generation und Nachfolger des beliebten DA1. Der DA2 ist mit 256 MB oder 2 GB Logging-Speicher erhältlich und besitzt eine höhere Download-Geschwindigkeit sowie eine treiberlose PC-Schnittstelle. GEMS konnte bei seiner Entwicklung auf Erfahrung in Umfeldern von Rundstreckenrennen bis hin zur Dakar zurückgreifen. Ebenfalls neu auf der Messe ist die Energiemanagementmodul PM3. Das neue Modell übernimmt Kernmerkmale des älteren PM1, das bei Meister-Teams in der ALMS und PWRC zum Einsatz kam, ist aber kleiner und leichter als zuvor und besitzt einen neuen Positronic-Anschluss als kostengünstige Option für Teams, die keinen AS-Anschluss benötigen.

 

Weitere Produktvorstellungen

Viper Performance aus Großbritannien ist mit einer Vielzahl neuer Produkte wieder auf der PMW Expo vertreten. Das Sortiment umfasst u. a. Universal-Entlüftertanks aus Aluminium, bei denen ein Ölfang und ein Entlüfterauslass zu einer Einheit kombiniert werden. Der Tank mit 550 ml Fassungsvermögen ist in spiegelpolierter oder schwarzer Ausführung erhältlich und besitzt ein 1/8"-NPT-Gewinde an der Unterseite mit Anschluss an ein Ablassventil, das einfach entfernt werden kann. Dann kann das NPT-Gewinde als Rücklauf oder als abgesetzter Ablass verwendet werden. Der obere Anschluss passt für alle Leitungen und der dritte Anschluss (seitlich) wird mit einem Entlüftungsfilter verbunden.

Viper präsentiert außerdem einen neuen Service für kundenspezifische Brems- und Kupplungsleitungen. Maßgeschneiderte Hydraulikleitungen aus Edelstahlgeflecht können nun anhand von Kundenanforderungen angefertigt werden. Das Edelstahlgeflecht ist dabei in eine dicke PVC-Ummantelung gekapselt, die in mehreren Farben erhältlich ist.

 

DTM-Kupplung ein rasender Erfolg!

ZF Race Engineering gehörte zu den Ausstellern, von denen neue Technologien die engere Auswahl der PMW Expo Awards kamen. Doch während die clevere neue Anti-Stall-Kupplung von ZF den Sieg in der Kategorie Motorsporttechnologie verpasste, spielte ein anderes Produkt eine Hauptrolle bei zwei weiteren Auszeichnungen: Die DTM als Europäische Rennserie des Jahres und HWA als Team des Jahres.

ZF ist nicht nur offizieller Zulieferer der DTM und stellt damit jedem Auto im Feld Kupplungen zur Verfügung, sondern auch „Offizieller Partner“ des Meisterteams BMW Motorsport. ZF Race Engineering löste in der Saison 2012 eine komplexe Aufgabe: zuverlässig 500 PS Motorleistung übertragen, lange Serviceintervalle und gleichzeitig die Erfüllung strenger Kostenbeschränkungen, die in einer Ausschreibung definiert waren.

Zu diesem Zweck vereinte ZF Race Engineering diverse Elemente seines modularen Systems zu einer neuen Kupplung. Die Kupplung Formula Carbon 4/140Y gehört zur Produktreihe der Rennsportkupplungen aus der Modellreihe RCS. Sie besteht aus vier Scheiben und kann bis zu 900 Nm übertragen, ihre Lebensdauer wurde gegenüber dem Vorgängermodell verdreifacht. Damit kann eine gesamte DTM-Saison mit einer Kupplung pro Auto absolviert werden, vorausgesetzt, es kommt zu keiner Überlastung durch Fehlbedienung.


Leichte Fahrzeugrampen

Frisch erhältlich in Europa sind die Race Ramps, ein tragbares Fahrzeughebesystem aus modernstem, leichtem, hochdichtem Schaumstoff. Die Rampe ist rostfrei und wiegt nur 7 kg, ist aber stabil genug, um ein 2,7 Tonnen schweres Fahrzeug bis zu 35 cm über den Boden anzuheben. Eingesetzt wird sie, um Zugang zur Fahrzeugunterseite zu erhalten oder um Anhängerrampen zu verlängern, damit der Anfahrwinkel verringert wird. „Aufgrund ihres einfachen Verbindungssystems können sie zu transportablen Boxen ausgebaut werden“, erklärte Stephanie Beerens, Geschäftsführerin von Race Ramps Europe. „Sie können auch im Design des jeweiligen Teams ausgeführt werden.“

 

DeltaWing-Motor zum Anfassen

Mittelpunkt des Ausstellungsstands von ARP Inc., dem Spezialisten für Verbindungsmittel, ist der turbogeladene Direkteinspritzungsmotor DIG-T aus dem radikalen DeltaWing, der in Le Mans 2012 für Aufsehen sorgte. ARP nimmt seit inzwischen fünf Jahren an der PMW Expo teil und zeigt 2012 eine Reihe neuer Produkte, z. B. Sets von Motorblock- und Zylinderkopfschrauben für 3,4- bis 3,6-Liter-Motoren von Porsche, die 1,6-Liter-Verbindungsmittel-Sets MINI und Pleuelschrauben-Sets für BMW-2,8- und 3-Liter-Motoren. Alle sind ab sofort lieferbar.

 

Messedebüt für Lazer Lamps

Die „strahlendste“ neue Technologie, die auf der diesjährigen Messe in Köln zu sehen ist, steckt sicherlich in den LED-Einheiten von Lazer Lamps. Das erstmalig vertretene Unternehmen wurde 2010 gegründet und entwickelte zwei Jahre lang seine Produkte bis zu dem Punkt, dass sie die EU-Zulassung für den Straßenverkehr erhielten. Damit steht dem Einsatz der Leuchten bei Straßenrallyes sowie bei Langstrecken- und Offroad-Rallyes nichts im Weg.

„Wir wollen hier neue Möglichkeiten für das Fahrzeuglicht bei Rennen in Morgen- und Abenddämmerung sowie bei Nacht zeigen“, erzählte der Vertriebsleiter von Lazer Lamps William Rhodes. „Diese Geräte sind klein und sehr leistungsstark.“

Die in Großbritannien konstruierten und hergestellten Leuchtriegel von Lazer Lamps verbrauchen weniger Strom als herkömmliche HID- oder Halogenlampen. Die größte erhältliche Einheit, die T16, besteht aus 16 10-W-LEDs, die insgesamt 13 A bei 12 V verbrauchen. Die Leuchten geben knapp 14.000 Lumen ab, das entspricht dem Wert von neun Halogenstrahlern mit 22 cm Durchmesser.

Die Lazer-LEDs wurden bereits von Teams beim Britcar-24-Stunden-Rennen eingesetzt und sie werden den Wildcats und den Versorgungs-Lkw des Race2Recovery-Team bei der 2013er Dakar als Beleuchtung dienen.

 

Alternative zu Strohballen enthüllt

Das neueste Produkt des Spezialherstellers von Rennstreckenbarrieren Recticel gibt sein Messedebüt. Auf zahlreiche Kundenanfragen hin entwickelte das Unternehmen eine moderne Alternative zu den traditionellen Strohballen. Der Safeguard Bale wird aus feuerhemmendem Schaumstoff gefertigt und zusätzlich mit einer feuerhemmenden Sprühbeschichtung versehen. Laut Recticel ergibt sich damit ein einheitlicherer, langlebigerer, leichterer und ästhetisch ansprechenderer Ersatz für Strohballen.

Der Bale ist in schwarz oder grau erhältlich und wird in einer Standardlänge von 2,4 m mit 30 cm Tiefe ausgeliefert. Allerdings sind auch kundenspezifische Maße möglich: Recticel lieferte 5 m lange Einheiten an Oulton Park in Großbritannien, wo die Bales mit einer Verstärkung aus Sperrholz entlang der Boxenmauer montiert sind. Der Vertriebsleiter Colin Harrold erklärte, dass der Safeguard Bale nach einer Teilung wieder zusammengeklebt werden kann. Er sollte mindestens drei Rennsaisons halten, wenn er nicht wiederholt durch Unfälle beschädigt wird.

Die Motorradverbände ACU und MCRCB haben das Produkt bereits zugelassen, die FIM-Kategorisierung soll bald folgen. „Strohballen sind unbeliebt“, sagte er. „Sie werden im April gekauft und im November weggeworfen. Der Safeguard Bale bietet dazu eine Alternative, und wir haben nicht den geringsten Zweifel, dass sich das Produkt weiterentwickeln wird.“

 

F1-Kraftstofftank am Messestand

Blickfang am Stand von ATL ist ein aufgeschnittener Formel-1-Kraftstofftank aus dem Jahr 2004, der einen seltenen Einblick in diese extreme Hightech-Anwendung ermöglicht Co-Leiter Kevin Molloy erklärte, dass der 5 kg schwere Tank aus FT5-Kevlar (Außenwände) und FT3 (innen) nach FIA-Standard besteht. Aufgrund eines komplexen inneren Netzwerks aus Öffnungen, Klappen und Ventilen dauert sein Bau etwa 120 Mannstunden.

„Wir sind hier auf der Messe, um Bestandskunden zu treffen und um Neuigkeiten zu zeigen“, sagte Molloy. Das Unternehmen beliefert alle 12 F1-Teams, ist mit seinen Produkten im neuen Fahrzeug Foxhound der britischen Streitkräfte vertreten und liefert ein schlüsselfertiges Kraftstoffsystem für den McLaren GT3. „Wir haben vor kurzem unsere Stanzerei vergrößert, deshalb werben wir auch für diese Seite des Geschäfts.“

 

Maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für die Kraftübertragung Helix Autosport

ist auf der Messe mit einer Reihe maßgeschneiderter, verstärkter Kupplungen und leichter Schwungscheiben für Dutzende Motorsportanwendungen vertreten. Zu den beliebten Sets für den Einsatz im Straßenverkehr wie im Rennsport gehörten im vergangenen Jahr Produkte für den Ford Focus RS, MINI Cooper S, Toyota GT86 und Porsche 911. 2013 wird das Unternehmen weiterhin eng mit Trackday-Tunern und -Herstellern sowie mit Herstellen von Autobausätzen zusammenarbeiten.


 
Öffnungszeiten der Messe
Mittwoch 15. Nov 10.00 - 17.00
Donnerstag 16. Nov 10.00 - 17.00
Freitag 17. Nov 10.00 - 17.00
 
BUCHEN SIE JETZT IHRE
AUSSTELLUNGSFLÄCHE
FÜR 2017 Klicken Sie hier...
GALERIE

Klicken Sie hier für die Galerie 2016 Mehr
HOTEL PARTNER

 

Zukünftige 
Ausstellungsdaten:

Professional Motorsport World Expo 2018
Daten: 7-9 November 2018
Ort: Halle 10.1, cologne,Deutschland

Zukünftige 
Ausstellungsdaten:

Professional Motorsport World Expo 2019
Daten: 13-15 November 2019
Ort: Halle 10.1, cologne,Deutschland